Wiki Downtime / Change Your Passwords!
This notice may be cached—the current version can be found here.

v0.34 Talk:Necromancer

From Dwarf Fortress Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Please verify

All my Fortress Mode edits are entirely from personal experience across approx. ten forts in three world gens. Can anyone verify? --Vi Et Armis 15:17, 29 March 2012 (UTC)

[edit] Hiding necromancers?

So randomly some corpses have started animating yet no necromancer is nearby it seems. I'm in a good region and have had no announcements except Urist McHauler cancels store barrel: Interrupted by Kea corpse. Perhaps Necromancers can ambush?

What else could cause undeath? --Merreton 02:16, 15 May 2012 (UTC)

I believe necromancers are capable of hiding and raising corpses while sneaking. Since you're in a good region that rules out the corpses raising themselves, and I don't think good regions produce mists or clouds, so there's no other answer. -- 108.69.177.161 02:47, 10 May 2012 (UTC)
I can confirm this; my fortress faced an early siege which (apparently) consisted of only a single Elf Corpse. The SIEGE indicator vanished when my military defeated the Elf, but things kept on animating. Later on, I noticed lines in combat log showing that a Human necromancer had been hanging around (in hiding) after the end of the official Siege, and raising corpses. -- 24.138.132.123 02:47, 31 May 2012 (UTC)
Yes, necromancers can hide. I've seen it with sieges, although not as separate ambushes. Even while hidden it still prints into the combat log ('the necromancer is fighting! the x corpse is fighting!') when they raise the dead, so it's easy to know if this is the cause, although that's probably a bug. -- Qazmlpok 17:22, 31 May 2012 (UTC)

[edit] Tower Distance

Do we have any direct evidence that a tower more than 10 or 11 region tiles away will send necros/zombies to a fortress? In my own experience, the "Tower" designation only shows up if you embark within 11 region tiles of the tower, and I do not recall getting attacked when more than 11 but less than 21 region tiles away. I don't have firm data on the 11-20 region tile distance, however. Krenshala 18:22, 21 July 2012 (UTC)


-I have been attacked by a Necromancer's zombies Not him, he did not come from the Northern tip of the map while I was in the South, which was much further then 20 tiles.

[edit] Clarification

"If you attack one of your own reanimated corpses, all of your reanimated companions will become neutral and will no longer follow you."

The word 'all' being bolded for this page has me concerned and curious, does this apply to zombies that are summoned later by yourself as well? -- Morekouto 03:28, 1 August 2012 (UTC)

No, it stops all current undead followers from following you. You can get them back, but you have to re-kill them, and re-raise them, or find new bodies. --Struck Down 04:40, 14 August 2012 (UTC)

[edit] Speed cap in adventure mode?

After becoming a necro in adventure mode, I noticed my speed started dropping off quickly, and wasn't linked to my items or attributes. The highest speed I can manage is about 1300 with my character completely naked, with superhuman agility and strength.


Yeah my adventurer went from 1610 to 1290 speed in about a week ingame time in one shot. It also seems that you don't need to eat or sleep anymore either. Those are pretty crucial details for this page. I'm playing v 34.11. Also have highest agility and strength possible for a dwarf. --77.190.67.208 01:12, 17 December 2012 (UTC)

Same thing happened to me. It also seems to affect adventurers who contract vampirism. I also messed with the tokens and removed the [no phys att gain] in the files for both becoming a necromancer and even placed [no phys att rust] in with the human file in the creatures folder, and it still didn't allow me to increase my speed at all for either. Hope this helps.

[edit] Drowning

Do necromancers drown while in water? I know that werebeasts (when transformed) and vamps dont't. But, I was swimming in the sewers for a quest (living hell, kept seeing drowning sign and I thought I would die) and even though it said drowning, I didn't seem to drown, even after being under for quite a while.

Thanks for the help.


I just took my necromancer for a swim and he drowned alright.--77.190.67.208 01:22, 17 December 2012 (UTC)

[edit] Adventurer Civ Relations?

As of my writing this, the Adventure Mode section of this page mentions the following:

"while a necromancer can still be friendly to mortals, its minions will attack everything in sight. This attack will cause the civilization to label you as an enemy for your undead minions' actions."

I strongly believe that your zombie minions attacking any individual don't label you as an enemy to that civilization. I have brought several dozen animated corpses to a hamlet and and have had no problem engaging in conversation with the townsfolk there, even as they were being slaughtered by my companions. I wanted to change it right now, but I thought it would be better to have others verify this before I post anything.

Also, if you have living AND dead companions simultaneously, they will both fight each other, but never actually target you. However, if you attack a corpse companion, ALL of your allies, living and dead, will no longer follow you. Living companions will become hostile to you, making you an enemy of each civilization they belonged to.

Again, just putting this here first to be peer-reviewed.

--RedReign (talk) 02:03, 18 May 2013 (UTC)

[edit] Vampire Necromancers: Is it possible?

i've been trying in vain to become a vampire with my human necromancer. i've hunted down four different vampires and drunk alot (maybe 50 units of blood) with the lowest disease resistance i could get. am i just being a moron, or is this actually impossible? im running 0.34.11

My current adventurer is a vampire necromancer, but he became a vampire first.

No, the order has to be Vampire > Necromancer. Necromancers don't drink, so consuming vampire blood has no effect.

Actually that last statement is incorrect. Necromancers don't need to drink, sleep or eat, but they can and will, if you give the order. A Necromancer that later becomes a Vampire is possible (actually I have done it).--Doktoro Reichard (talk) 17:23, 23 March 2014 (UTC)

[edit] Elven/Goblin Necromancer impossible

Because elves and goblins are immortal, they don't seek to become necromancers, and so none will be generated in world gen.

I believe this also prohibits elven/goblin adventurers from getting the 'raise corpse' acquired power, as I failed to acquire it after I read several 'secrets of life ad death' books and the slab.

Wondering if anyone knows a workaround, perhaps in the raws?

-- PS. Right, further poking about in the raws revealed this:

[INTERACTION:EXAMPLE SECRET]
...
    [I_TARGET:A:CREATURE]
        [IT_LOCATION:CONTEXT_CREATURE]
        [IT_REQUIRES:MORTAL]
        [IT_REQUIRES:CAN_LEARN]
        [IT_REQUIRES:CAN_SPEAK]
...

So, to become a necromancer, you must be mortal. I would guess that either adding a [MAXAGE:###:###] tag to your creatre raw, or removing the [IT_REQUIRES:MORTAL] tag from the Interaction would be a workaround.

Would be interested to know if you can apply this in a live game.

-- PPS.

From my testing, it appears that neither adding a MAXAGE nor removing [IT_REQUIRES:MORTAL] seems to work (In a live setting!). Would appreciate seperate confirmation and other possible solutions.

Have you generated a new world after editing the RAWs? That is necessary for changes to take effect.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox
Advertisement